Six Years of CEGeoGTech Excellence

Kangar, 11 March – Researchers from the School of Materials Engineering's Centre of Excellence Geopolymers and Green Technology (CEGeoGTech) were responsible for almost 18.3 percent of all Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP) publications in 2016 according to the latest SCOPUS data.

CEGeoGTech Chairperson Datuk Prof. Emeritus Dr. Kamarudin Hussin said that the research centre was also successful in reaching high-impact journals and contributing to publications such as the Web of Science database which are calculated based on CEGeoTech affiliation.

He said, in the six years since its inception, CEGeoGTech has been able to soar excellently at national and international levels, garnering over more than 200 awards.

“Among its other achievements are registering 45 patents and publishing 30 books between 2011 and 2016, and obtaining research grants locally and from overseas such as the RM2.5 million grant from the European Commission and the RM170 thousand grant from Nihon Superior Japan,” he said in a speech at the Majlis Kecemerlangan CEGeoGTech last night.

Also present were UniMAP Deputy Vice Chancellor Student Affairs and Alumni (HEPA) Prof Madya Dr Mohd Foad Sakdan, Dean of the School for Materials Engineering Prof Madya Dr Khairel Rafezi Ahmad and CEGeoGTech Manager Prof Madya Dr Mohd Mustafa Al Bakri Abdullah.

According to Dr. Kamarudin, 2017 is the year that will determine the capability to develop research and innovation, therefore starting this year the key performance index (KPI) for each CEGeoGTech researcher is to produce two indexed journal as primary writer.

“This is based on the current requirements of the Malaysian Research Assessment (MyRA) which indirectly aids UniMAP to achieve the KPI set by the Ministry of Higher Education (KPT).

“The capacity and capability for innovation is very much needed to develop economy and to strengthen the national competitiveness in global market and trading,” he said.

CEGeoGTech, which was formed in 2010 with the name Green Concrete@UniMAP before being upgraded in July 2011, held the Majlis Kecemerlangan to celebrate the appreciation of individuals, organisations and agencies that helped to uplift the CEGeoGTech and UniMAP name during the six years of its operation.

During the ceremony, certificate of appointments were awarded to Research Group Leaders, Primary Researchers and Associate Researchers of CEGeoGTech. Also, the CEGeoGTech Patron Recognition Award was conferred to Prof Madya Dr Che Mohd Ruzaidi Ghazali, the Deputy Vice Chancellor (HEPA) Universiti Malaysia Terengganu.